daufuskie island lighthousesDaufuskie Island Lighthouses
Two distinctive, and historically significant, lighthouses grace the shores of Daufuskie Island. Haig Point Lighthouse on the northern end, and Bloody Point lighthouse on the southern end. Unique among lighthouses, both featured a range light - a wooden 100 foot tower erected roughly a hundred feet to the rear of the lighthouse. As with the lamp in the house, the keeper would raise a second lamp to the top of the tower. Mariners would line up the lights to find safe passage through the area.

The Haig Point Lighthouse, located within the Haig Point community, served mariners traveling around the northern tip of Daufuskie between 1882, when it was built, and the late 1930’s. The lighthouse was built upon the foundation of an impressive antebellum mansion that was destroyed during the 1860’s. After the lighthouse was retired, time, weather and neglect led to near total dilapidation. Developers arriving on the island by the mid-1980’s painstakingly restored it to it’s original beauty.

The Bloody Point Lighthouse was built in 1872 on the sandy shores of the Atlantic, very near the present day Public Beach access. Erosion forced the relocation of the lighthouse and its range light, farther up on the property on two different occasions. Horses and cattle were used to pull the structures across pine logs laid across the soft and grassy landscape. The lighthouse was eventually retired in the late 1930’s. Soon after, Pappy Burn, who had served as an assistant lighthouse keeper, purchased the lighthouse and property. Legendary stories abound of his days as the resident winemaker. Built to store the lamp, wick and oil, the small outbuildings on the property were transformed into the famous ‘Silver Dew Winery’.

Back to ABOUT DAUFUSKIE
 
     
  © 2012 Outside Hilton Head • 843-686-6996 • 800-686-6996 • 32 Shelter Cove Lane, Suite H, Hilton Head Island, SC 29928